To rebukes that make us sore

Could revolting when our will is crossed a symptom of scanty reading of His Word?

The Word is a two-edged sword. I oftentimes find His Word difficult, cutting, hurting, and insulting. And then I proceed to the testimonies and find them even more straight forward, slapping me till it sores so much.

But then I remember the Bible saying ,

For he maketh sore, and bindeth up: he woundeth, and his hands make whole. Job 5:18 (KJV)

Wounding is sometimes healing. Rebukes cut, but they make us sane. Looking at our true colors and accepting them, is not an enemy. It creates meekness and humility. The bitter pills may be hard to swallow, but they are sweet to the stomach.

Take time to read, and your views will be enlightened. And while reading, your will may be crossed, it may be bruised, but it will not be the end of the story. There will be healing.

I am not perfect, and perhaps may have committed sins more grave than the reader, but this is the reason why I need this. I need His Word to be wounded and allow Him to make me whole again.

Leave a comment